A little late….

I had planned to write this post last week, but life got busy and we had family visiting from Pennsylvania, so I am behind on my “Thankful” post. 

What a year!  This past year has been an eye opener..that’s for sure!  Last Thanksgiving I was in the midst of my cancer treatments.  It was not a very festive holiday season for my family.  This year things were so much better!  I was able to cook Thanksgiving dinner with the help of my mother-in-law (Betty) and my sister-in-law (Danielle).  We had a total of 18 people at our house for Thanksgiving this year (including myself).  It was a great day filled with good food and family enjoying being together. 

I have so many things to be thankful for this year.  While I can’t exactly say I am thankful for getting cancer (Because I am not!!), I am thankful that cancer caused me to slow down and re-evaluate my life.  It made me realize what is most important in life.  It has taught me forgiveness, and that although I may not always see eye-to-eye with someone else, that it doesn’t mean that we can’t agree to disagree.  I have learned to slow down and smell the roses more often. 

I have learned to let the small things go and to not stress so much.  For this I am thankful.

I am thankful for health insurance and some of the best cancer doctors in the state. 

I am thankful for the new people that cancer brought into my life.

I am thankful for every day that I have to enjoy with my family.  They mean the world to me.

 

2 thoughts on “A little late….

Leave a Reply

