What a long day!

After a whole day spent in Louisville we have some answers. 

First, I will be starting physical therapy for the scar tissue around my implants and in chest.  Dr. Little said that between physical therapy and aggressive massage I may be able to break up the scar tissue enough to avoid additional surgery.  He said that we will re-evaluate in 6 weeks.  I am hoping that this helps because if I have to have surgery again he would have to open up the original mastectomy scars which would be the third operation in this area in a year.  So…physical therapy here I come!  I start on Thursday.

I had blood drawn at Brown Cancer Center and they were able to get it on the FIRST stick!  I saw Dr. Riley and she confirmed that I cannot take Tamoxifen anymore.  She has scheduled me to see a surgeon next week to have my ovaries removed.  It will be out patient surgery so I will get to come home the same day.  After surgery I will be started on another medication called an Aromatase inhibitor.  This is used to stop production of estrogen in post-menopausal women (which I will be after surgery). Aromatase inhibitors work by blocking the enzyme aromatase, which turns the hormone androgen into small amounts of estrogen in the body. This means that less estrogen is available to stimulate the growth of hormone-receptor-positive breast cancer cells.  This medication has a lower risk of blood clots. 

So…this is where we are right now.  Physical therapy, removal of ovaries, and a new medication. 

2 thoughts on “What a long day!

  1. Pingback: Aromatase Inhibitors and Cancer - Dr. Dalal Akoury

Leave a Reply

