Save the Rack!

Tomorrow is October 1st…the first day of October..or Pinktober.  Breast cancer awareness month.  The stores are already filling up with everything pink.  I suppose this can be considered a good thing…..it prompts people to purchase pink items in the support of breast cancer research.   But I really have to wonder how much is actually donated.

I have another issue with Pinktober.  The t-shirts that say things like:

Save a Rack

Save Second Base

I’m a breast man

Save the Hooters

After going through a bilateral mastectomy and 5 months of chemotherapy, I do not exactly see these sayings as supportive.  I fought and won.  I lost my breasts, but I am alive.  Where are the t-shirts that say something about a life saved rather than something insinuating that I have lost a vital part of my body and am now not “whole”?

Breast cancer awareness is important.  But do we really have to sexualize everything in order to bring awareness?

One thought on “Save the Rack!

Leave a Reply

