I survived

Oh holy heck.  I went to the Podiatrist today and thank goodness I had my momma go with me.  He looked at my toes and agreed that both toenails needed to be removed.  BUT, not only that, he said that my new toenails that were growing underneath were also damaged.  He had to completely remove all nail and he suggested that I allow him to put a chemical on the nail root in order to prevent it from growing back at all.  So not only did he remove my nails, but he also did whatever he does to prevent them from growing back at all. 

The procedure started out with 3 numbing shots in each toe.  WOW….did that ever hurt.  I about squeezed my moms hand right off.  I cried.  I may have yelled.  The doctor then had the nurse get me a Valium and a pain pill and had me take them.  I was then left to sit for about 15 minutes while the toes became numb.  When he came back in to remove the nail I covered my eyes because I did not want to see this!  I did not feel actual pain, but I did feel a lot of pressure.  It really burned when the chemical was applied to the root and he gave me another injection in the toe.  When he started on the second toe I felt pain when he started to PULL the nail off.  He had to stop and give me two more numbing injections and left me to sit for a few minutes to let it become more numb. 

I was given 6 bandages to use for the following 3 days that have a small sponge and medication that will help draw out any infection.  I have to soak my feet in warm water with Epsom salt for 10 minutes twice a day and then apply the special bandages.  After three days I can use regular band-aids.  I was given prescriptions for an antibiotic (they were starting to get infected again), and a cream to put on them.  The pharmacy did not have any of the cream in stock and had to order it.  It is supposed to be in tomorrow.  I told him that I did not need the pain medication prescription because I still had meds from my surgery last week. 

So…if you actually read this far….it hurts like heck to get your toenails removed.  They are now throbbing even with pain medication.  But I am glad that I went ahead and had it done.  I have been dealing with constant pain since January, so a couple of days of more intense pain will be worth it to have this all over with. 

Tomorrow Nick is taking me back to Louisville to see Dr. Little to have my bandages removed from my surgery last week.  I do not expect that to be painful.  Other than my toes I am actually feeling great!!! 

2 thoughts on “I survived

  1. My dear sweet friend….How I respect your courage and your ability to throw a twist of humor into everything you endure. I’m glad that you are on the mend and I look forward to the time when you blog that all of your trials are over and that you are 100% again! Missing you….
    Shannon

  2. I try to look on the bright side as much as possible and keep laughing…otherwise I would just cry 😉 I am feeling so much better and now that the toes are taken care of I can see a lot of happy blog posts in my future!! I wish we still lived close together…I miss you my friend.

Leave a Reply

