September 21, 2012

TESTS AND MORE TESTS PART 2

I received a phone call that I will be getting my port inserted/placed on Monday.  Nick and I have to be there at 10:30 Monday morning. Here is a bit of info on what a port is for those of you who do not know:

This is from the following website that gives a “port” as a way of administering chemotherapy:

http://www.breastcancer.org/treatment/chemotherapy/process/how.jsp

Through a port (sometimes called by brand names such as Port-a-cath or Mediport) inserted in your chest during a short outpatient surgery. A port is a small disc made of plastic or metal about the size of a quarter that sits just under the skin. A soft thin tube called a catheter connects the port to a large vein. Your chemotherapy medicines are given through a special needle that fits right into the port. You also can have blood drawn through the port. When all your cycles of chemotherapy are done, the port is removed during another short outpatient procedure.

On Tuesday I am scheduled to go in for an other double expansion in my breast expanders at Dr. Little’s office on Brownsboro Road and then we head over to Brown Cancer Center for a class on “Chemo Brain”.  That should be a pretty easy day.  And finally, on Thursday, Nick and my mom will be joining me for another visit with my oncologist, Dr. Riley.  We will find out my chemo schedule at that time.  We will also be meeting with a nurse who will educate us on the ins and outs of chemo and then give us a tour of the chemo area.

Chemo will start either this Friday or on Monday.  I am scared of the chemo, yet anxious to get it started so I get all of this behind me.

Leave a Reply

