September 17, 2012

BIG DAY TOMORROW!

I am slowly regaining my strength and moving around better, but I get exhausted so quickly.  Today my cousin Christine drove me and the kids to the mall (the kids did not have school today).  I walked the whole length of the Towne Mall…I know…that doesn’t seem like that big of an accomplishment, but for me it was like a marathon!  We went for Domenic to get a hair cut and Beckie wanted new shoes.  I went into the Chic Wig shop and bought a cute little cap to wear during chemo.  I have decided that I am not a wig person even though our insurance said that they will pay for one.  I don’t want to offend anyone reading this who has gone through chemo and chose to wear a wig.  Those of you who know me personally know that I am a simple kinda gal.  The caps just “fit” me better.  After leaving the mall we went to Kohl’s where I found some sweat pants and a couple of really cute tops that Christine and Beckie picked out for me.  I was really wearing down by this point.  Domenic said that he was “starving to death” and since he is a growing teenage boy we could not allow this to happen.  We stopped at his favorite place, Family Buffet, and everyone enjoyed a nice meal.  I then had to get home to rest.  Christine has been my rock through out this!!  She has gone above and beyond.  And technically she isn’t my actual cousin.  She is my husband’s cousin.  And she has done so much for me that I will never be able to repay her.

Tomorrow will be my big day.  After getting the kids off to school Nick, Christine, and myself will be heading to Louisville for THREE doctor visits.  I see Dr. McMaster’s at 10am and then have to go to the other side of Louisville to see Dr. Little for him to remove my 2 remaining drains and add saline into my expanders.  Then we will head back to the building that we started at, Brown Cancer Center, to see Dr. Riley who will be taking care of the chemo part of my treatment.  Somewhere in there we will have to eat.  So…I am a bit concerned about tomorrow because it is quite a hike from the parking garages to the doctors office and in addition to that, just sitting up for long periods of time wears me out.  But it is better than Nick having to take 2 days off of work.  It is easier for him to take one day off work and try to get everything squeezed into that one day.  I have a feeling that I will sleep well tomorrow!!!

I know that I have said this before, but I want to say it again.  I am so thankful for everyone who has rallied around me through this.  My family has been wonderful.  My friends have been absolutely wonderful.  I don’t know what I would do without each and every one of you who have reached out to me.  I have received cards from multiple states and each card has brightened my day more than you will ever know.  I love you all!

I started to hit the “publish” button and then thought that there was one last thing I wanted to add here.  My mom has been such a blessing throughout this also.  She has held my hand and allowed me to just cry without me having to explain why I am crying.  She will just sit there and hold my hand, rub my arm, and hand me a tissue.  She just knows.  She just holds me and doesn’t try to talk.  And she has been baby sitting Miss Ladybug.  And for of you who know my mom, she is NOT a dog person.  But she has bonded with Ladybug over popcorn (you have to share with Ladybug or she pouts) and she has been taking very good care of my baby girl.  I miss Ladybug a lot.  She is my little shadow.  She sits with me to watch TV and is my constant companion.  Mom has said that Ladybug is sad.  I can’t wait to see her..hopefully tomorrow!!! If my drains come out tomorrow, the Ladybug gets to come home.  I have no seen her since Sept. 6th!!!   I am so thankful that mom has Ladybug because I know she is being taken care of.  Even though mom is not a “dog person” she is willing to do this for me because she knows how much I care for my baby.

Leave a Reply

