October 20, 2012

Chemo number 2 is complete and I am doing much better this go round.  Between the extra fluids while receiving my chemo and then going back for more fluids the following day and changes made to my anti-nausea meds….I am so much better this time!

It took an hour and a half for me to get my fluids, and I fell asleep wrapped up in heated blankets since they keep the temperature set to below freezing in the chemo rooms.  I believe Nick may have gotten bored because he snapped a couple of pictures of me sleeping…

Image

I managed to sleep through most of it and was grateful because Nick walked over to the cafeteria and bought sushi to eat and I don’t know how I could have handled that smell if I were awake!  After a while, Nick woke me up because he said that my face was turning various shades of red and purple again with odd areas of a sickly white.  He went and got my nurse, Abbey, and she wasn’t sure what was going on either so she called for the on call doctor to come over.  The doctor thought that it may be a reaction to my chemo since this time it happened about 24 hours from administration of my chemo, the same as last time.  She called my medical oncologist to check in with her and Dr. Riley said that it is possible that I am reacting to the AC chemo and that this is a good thing because it means that the chemo is working.  The steroids are helping with the reaction, but she also had me take 2 Benadryl tablets.  I also received my lovely Neulasta shot in my stomach to help stimulate my bone marrow to produce new cells.  So far I have not had the terrible bone pain that I had last time..praise God!

We finally headed home from Brown Cancer Center around 6:30pm.  I was exhausted.  I am sure that Nick was too.

Thank you to everyone who has been keeping up with my blog, and to all of you who have been sending encouraging words, cards, and stopping by to visit.  We love all of you!

Leave a Reply

