November 27, 2012

IT’S THAT TIME OF YEAR!

I have the Christmas tree up and decorated, and a few other decorations placed around the house.  Presents are wrapped and under the tree.  I basically have all of my Christmas shopping completed except for a few odds and ends that I will pick up closer to time.  Christmas already feels so much different this year.  I am so thankful that my treatments are going good and that I am here with my family to enjoy the Holiday’s.

I have really cut back on what we normally spend on Christmas this year.  Nick and I had talked last year that we were spending to much on “stuff” and were wanting to cut back this year before all of the cancer stuff come up.  If cancer has to have a positive, I would say that it has reminded me what the Holiday’s are really about.  God and Family.

I have several Christmas events on my calendar for December and I am excited and staying positive that I will feel good enough to enjoy each one of them.  My sister, Amanda, and I are going on Thursday to the Hardin County Extension office for an event that they are holding that is called “DIY stocking stuffers”  It is a workshop that will teach us how to make homemade stocking stuffers and inexpensive gifts.  I am excited for the girls night out!

I then have chemo on the 6th of December and I am keeping my fingers crossed that the side effects are mild and I am not sick.  I keep going back and forth between being positive that what I have read about this new chemo drug and what I have heard from others who are taking it and that I will react just as well.  Then I get scared and think..the AC was pretty hard on me and made me pretty sick…will I be one of the small percentage who gets sick on this one too?  I know…I have to try to stay positive!!!

On the 8th of December we will be having some friends over for a quiet dinner party.  I am excited about that.

December 9th is Nick’s birthday.

On December 13th I will be going to the Christmas party for the breast cancer support group that I just joined.  I am very excited about that.  It is comforting to know other people who have or are going through the same thing as you.

And then on December 15th we will be going to my Aunt Kay’s for her annual family Christmas party.  There is always delicious food and most of all…family!  We always have such a great time there.  We do not exchange gifts between one another in the traditional sense..  but we all take a gift and play the Dirty Santa game.  I have two of my gifts for the game purchased and need to come up with two more before then.  I have got to come up with some idea of what to get!!  And I am also thankful for Aunt Kay because she picked this date for the party because it is in the middle of my chemo cycle so I will hopefully be feeling good.  I am looking forward to seeing everyone and having a great time!

After the 15th things will calm down a bit and I am looking forward to doing some holiday baking before Beckie has to have oral surgery to have her wisdom teeth removed on the 19th.  I want her to be able to enjoy some of the goodies before that happens.

I hope all of you who are reading this has a wonderful Holiday season and remember…spend time with your family.  Family is important!

Leave a Reply

