May 8, 2013

OK…first off, who ever told me that this surgery would be a breeze…they LIED!  Oh my goodness.  While it has not been as bad as the mastectomy overall, there have been parts that were worse.  When I had the mastectomy I did not wake up in severe pain and I had a morphine pump.  Yes…it hurt, but I was able to tolerate it.  When I woke up from this surgery in the recovery room I was in unbearable pain.  I have fuzzy memories of being in the worse pain of my life and the nurses giving me two injections of pain medication at different times to try and get the pain under control for me.  Nick said that when they let him and my mom come back to the recovery room that it scared him to see how much pain I was in.  My mom said that that it was very scary and that I looked terrible and was crying.  Even though this surgery was supposed to be a “same day” procedure, my doctor said that I could be admitted over night for pain management.  I chose to go ahead and leave.  I just wanted to be at home.  Looking back..maybe I should have stayed.

I believe what caused me to be in such pain is the fact that I had so much scar tissue form around my tissue expanders and this had to be removed.  I do not know this for a fact, I am just assuming that this is what made such a big difference.

I have also had some issues with my pain medication.  It has been causing me to ITCH all over.  This is not an allergic reaction, just a side effect.  The solution is to take Benadryl with it.  I cannot take Benadryl..so I am stuck with the itching.  I have also been dealing with nausea and vomiting from the pain medication.  Let me tell you, vomiting when you have countless sutures holding your chest closed….not a good combination!!!!  Thankfully I still had some anti-nausea medication left over from chemo and Nick started giving me that and it has helped.

2 thoughts on “May 8, 2013

  1. Okay… I am officially scared now! Lol… But I will say, I can’t wait to get my exchange and be done with this. … just want all this behind me. Muscle spams?!?!… Oh, yea!! Ouch,that’s a daily thing for me any more. 😦
    I ..am..ready..fo..my..new..boobies!!

    • Mary Jane…Don’t be scared. My surgery would not have been as bad except that I formed some significant scar tissue around my left expander. That is what caused me so much discomfort…the scar tissue removal. I have faith…you will breeze right through this!

Leave a Reply

