March 18, 2013

I met with Dr. Little, my plastic/reconstruction surgeon on Friday.  I did not have to get another expander filling.  He said that I have healed beautifully and that my expanders look good and I am ready to go ahead with phase two of my reconstruction surgery.  I was originally scheduled on April 29th, but today it was moved to May 6th.  It seems so far away!  I am anxious to get this over with.  Dr. Little is also going to take out my chemo port.  I am really excited about that coming out!

Tomorrow I go back to Louisville to see Dr. McMasters for my 6 month follow up from my mastectomy.  I can’t believe that it has been 6 months since all of this started!!

In the last six months I have lost over 25 pounds.  I had been going to the gym before all of this cancer stuff started to try and get healthy.  I was not allowed to go during chemo because of my blood counts being to low to fight infection.  I am happy to say that today I started a new membership and will continue to get myself to a more healthy weight.  I have read quite a bit of research that is showing that being over weight can raise your risk of having a recurrence.  I am trying to do everything that I can in order to stop that from happening.  I know that I can’t totally erase my chances of a recurrence, but I want to do whatever I can to lower the chance if possible.  I have also been eating a much healthier diet.

Leave a Reply

