Feb. 4, 2013

I got a beautiful card in the mail today…it was from my long time “pen pal” Jim from California.  We have been corresponding with one another for right around 17 years now.  Even though we have never met in person, Jim, his wife Mary, and their two sons have sent me several cards of encouragement letting me know that they are thinking about me and praying for me.  It means so much to me to know how many people I have out there in multiple states across the country who are thinking about me, encouraging me, and praying for me and my family.

When something like this (cancer) happens to you, it changes your perspective on everything.  Things that once seemed so big and important are suddenly nothing.  And the little things begin to mean so much more.  I am so thankful that I have such loving friends and family who have supported me through this journey.  And I am thankful for the people who have remembered that it isn’t just me going through this..it is my whole family.  So for those who have taken the time to give words of encouragement to my husband, Nick, and our kiddos, Beckie and Domenic…My mom, Donnie, and sisters…  THANK YOU.  They have been along on this journey the same as me.  Sometimes I think it is harder on them than it is me because it is such an emotional thing to have to watch.

I am thankful for everything that everyone has done to help us…cooking meals for us, donations, help with fundraisers, stopping by to visit with me, calling to check on me, prayers, and all of the other offers of help.

It has been almost 6 months since my diagnosis and it amazes me that everyone is still here for me.  Still cheering me on.  Encouraging me to keep going.  Staying positive for me.  You have all shown me that when things go wrong, family and friends are there for one another.

As I have felt down physically this week…hurting and tired…I keep reminding myself that I have already made it through 12 chemotherapy treatments.  What’s two more???  I can do it!  And I am going to celebrate when the last one is complete!  I have radiation and several more surgeries ahead of me, but I think the worse is almost behind me with the mastectomy and chemo and before much longer I can have all of this behind me and we can begin to move on with our lives again.  I so look forward to that day!

I am going to end this post with some other things that I am thankful for because my sister, Amanda, reminded me the other day that no matter how bad things seem..how hard life is at the moment…or how down you may feel…there are always good things in your life even if they are small.  So for today my “good” things are:

1.  I am thankful that I was feeling well enough to drive Beckie to a doctor’s appointment today.

2.  I am thankful that I was able to visit with my mom and Donnie this afternoon even if it was for just a short visit because I wasn’t feeling well.

3.  I am thankful for Ladybug who snuggled with me on the couch for my nap this afternoon.

4.  I am thankful for my electric blanket that kept me nice and toasty warm and helps my aches ease up for a while.

5.  I am thankful that I was able to enjoy watching an episode of NCIS with my husband and both of my children (and of course the dog haha) tonight.

6.  I am thankful for the card from Jim that I got in the mail today.

Leave a Reply

