Feb. 3, 2013

It has been a while since I have posted!  I have been having issues with neuropathy in my fingers and it has been hard to type and takes me forever.

When I went for chemo last Thursday I thought I had that treatment that day and then three more to go and I would be finished.  However, I got good news!!  I only have two more to go!!  My chemo schedule had an error on it and they had accidentally scheduled me for one to many chemo treatments.  Thankfully my nurse noticed and brought it to my doctors attention.  Dr. Riley looked over my chart and said that it was a mistake.  So I only have two more chemo treatments to go through.  One this week and my last will be on Valentine’s Day.  This will also be the week of my birthday so what a great birthday present!!!

I meet with Dr. Dragun this week before I have chemo.  The appointment was originally scheduled for last week but there was a scheduling problem so it was changed to this week.  I am looking forward to talking to him and seeing if I qualify for the five weekly doses of radiation instead of the 30 daily treatments that I am scheduled to start as of now.

I have been feeling pretty crappy the past few weeks.  How was that for a medical description?  The Taxol is starting to get me down.  I ache all over and I am always tired and weak.  But the worse side effect is the pain in my feet and toes.  The neuropathy is not a fun thing to deal with.  My fingernails are turning yellow and some of them are trying to “bubble” up off of the nail bed in some places.  This is painful and makes typing difficult…which is why I have not blogged in a while.  I knew from the beginning that there was a possibility that I could lose some or all of my finger nails and toe nails from the Taxol.  I am still holding out hope that this doesn’t happen.  I am so close to be finished!!!  Thankfully it is only affecting two of my toe nails..my big toe on each foot.  They are so sore and throb all of the time.  Wearing shoes is not a pleasant experience right now.

Now that I have made all of my complaints known…I will list some things that I am thankful for today.

1.  I am thankful for my husband and children.  I love them with my whole heart.

2.  I am thankful for my family and friends and the support that they have given me throughout this journey.  A big thank you to my mom.  She has been coming down and helping me with some of the housework and laundry.  She has also been ironing Nick’s work clothes for me.  What would I do without her??  Love you momma!

3.  I am thankful that I have such good, caring doctors and nurses taking care of me at Brown Cancer Center.

4.  I am thankful that my side effects have not been as bad as they could have been.

5.  I am thankful for Miss Ladybug who keeps me company and snuggles with me for afternoon naps.

Leave a Reply

