Feb. 13, 2013

It has been almost a week since I have been on here to post.  This last chemo treatment really hit me hard.  I had some significant neuropathy in my feet and hands.  The hardest part of the week was the extreme weakness and fatigue that I experienced.  I have slept for most of the day since Sunday.

My mom came down today and did some cleaning and laundry for us.  I felt so lazy because I slept most of the time that she was here.

I have my LAST chemo treatment tomorrow.  I am excited!  I’m not exactly excited about the chemo part…but I am super excited about the LAST part!!!  Beckie helped me make some signs last night to have my picture taken with.  I also have Valentine’s to take to my fellow chemo patient’s tomorrow and Nick bought some fudge from the Abbey of Gethsmeni for the chemo nurses to help celebrate my last day of chemo.

On Saturday we will be having some friends over for a “Chemo is over” / “Survivor” celebration.  Nick is planning to make a good homemade Italian dinner and then we have fireworks to set off.  I am really looking forward to Saturday!  It has been a long 20 weeks of chemotherapy treatment.

After this week’s chemo treatment, I have to go back to Louisville the following Thursday for blood work and to see Dr. Riley.  I will then have 3 weeks free from doctor appointments or treatments!!  I will be seeing Dr. Little on March 15 for my first expander filling since starting chemo and then the following week on March 19th I have my 6 month follow with the surgeon who performed my mastectomy.  I still can’t believe that it has been nearly 6 months already.  In some ways it feels like time has flown by and then at other times it feels like time stood still.  I am so looking forward to being at the end of this cancer journey that I have been on.  A couple more surgeries is all!  Well..not ALL…since I will have to be tested and monitored every three months for the next 2 years and then every 6 months for a year or two after that.

Leave a Reply

